News Detail

new detail picture

Event Title: Senate Committee on Rules of Procedure and Privileges

Event Date: 2020-01-06

No one is above the law, this was asserted at the meeting of the Senate Committee on Rules of Procedure and Privileges held at Parliament House on Monday.  The issue taken up by the Committee was a Privilege Motion moved by Senator Aurangzeb Khan against Director Food, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Government, Mian Abdul Qadir.  The matter was referred to the Committee on 18 December, 2019.  Minister for Parliamentary Affairs, Senator Muhammad Azam Khan Swati assured the Committee that the Government will ensure that whatever the Committee decides will be implemented by the Government completely; as long as it remains within the ambit of the rules. 


The Committee after listening to both sides was of the view that a serious breach of privilege had been committed and the investigation initiated by the Department was shady.  Chairperson Committee, Senator Ayesha Raza Farooq stressed that the conduct of the officer was extremely shocking and such behaviour is unacceptable.  She took strong notice of the non-suspension of the officer, despite a clear ruling by Chairman Senate in the Senate sitting held on 03 January, 2020. She appreciated the support of the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, Senator Muhammad Azam Khan Swati.  The Committee showed grave concern regarding the attitude of the officer and was of the view that if he cannot treat the people’s representatives’ right, how he can be trusted to fulfil his duties to the people. 


The Committee was informed that since the officer is from DMG Group, the Department awaited action from the Establishment Division.  All members agreed unanimously that there had been a serious breach of privilege and rejected the inquiry conducted on this matter. 


Chaired by Senator Ayesha Raza Farooq, the members present included Senator Senator Syed Shibli Faraz, Senator Muhammad Ali Khan Saif, Senator Dr. Asif Kirmani, Senator Dilawar Khan, Senator Syed Muzafar Hussain Shah, Senator Manzoor Ahmed Khan Kakar, Senator Dr. Sikandar Mandhro, Senator Nighat Mirza, Senator Aurangzeb Khan Orakzai and Senior Officers Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs and Department of Food Government of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.  MNA Fazal Khan was also present.