Recognized as political nerve ends, the gatherers of information, the sifters of alternatives, the refiners of legislative detail, and the eyes and ears of the Parliament, much of the business of the House is handled by the Committees. The Senate of Pakistan has an efficient Committee System which has established traditions of sovereignty of the Parliament over the years and has dealt with a wide range of issues of national importance and public interest.

Senate Committees

  • Standing Committees
  • Functional Committees
  • Domestic Committees
  • Other Committees
  • Special Committees
  • Library Committee


Committee Membership: With a total membership of not more than fourteen members, that are elected by the Senate, the Minister or Adviser concerned shall be an ex-officio member of the Committee; provided that the Minister or Adviser shall not be entitled to vote as an ex-officio member unless, he is a member of the Senate.

A member cannot be a member of more than five Standing Committees at the same time.

Committee Rules: The Committee on Rules of Procedure and Privileges considers matters regarding the procedure and conduct of business in the House and disposes of the Privilege motions moved by the members of the House. As per Rule 163, all other matters including the composition and election to this Committee shall be regulated mutatis mutandis by rules relating to Standing Committee appearing hereafter; while the Minister for Parliamentary Affairs shall be its ex-officio member.

Committee at Work: As a result of the importance and complexity of its work, the Senate divides its tasks amongst committees. The chairman of each committee represents the majority party and controls committee business. Each party assigns its own members to committees, and each committee distributes its members amongst subcommittees.

There are limits on the number and types of committees served by one Senator. The main purpose of a committee is to interrogate executive organizations regarding issues of public importance. Hearings are held to gather information and views from non-committee experts.

Committees also meet to review amendments. A committee's influence extends to enactment of bills into law. Committee hearings are also held on the implementation and investigation of programs. These are known as oversight hearings.


S. No. Committee Name Committee Type Chairperson/ Convener Committee Secretary Members
1 Business Advisory Committee Domestic Committees Muhammad Sadiq Sanjrani Mohammad Qasim Samad Khan View Members
2 Senate House Committee Domestic Committees Mirza Muhammad Afridi View Members
3 Senate Finance Committee Domestic Committees Muhammad Sadiq Sanjrani Mohammad Qasim Samad Khan View Members
4 Aviation Standing Committees Hidayat Ullah Sara Saleem View Members
5 Interior Standing Committees Mohsin Aziz Muhammad Azam Sulahri View Members
6 Rules of Procedure and Privileges Other Committees Muhammad Tahir Bizinjo Muhammad Azam Sulahri View Members
7 Maritime Affairs Standing Committees Rubina Khalid Amjad Ali View Members
8 Communications Standing Committees Tayyab Bin Tahir Khan View Members
9 Commerce Standing Committees Zeeshan Khanzada Abdul Fattah Ujjan View Members
10 Planning, Development and Special Initiatives Standing Committees Atta Ur Rehman Abdul Fattah Ujjan View Members
11 Finance and Revenue Standing Committees Saleem Mandviwalla Iffat Mustafa View Members
12 Defence Standing Committees Mushahid Hussain Sayed Asim Khan Goraya View Members
13 Foreign Affairs Standing Committees Farooq Hamid Naek Hafeezullah Sheikh View Members
14 Industries and Production Standing Committees Khalida Ateeb Muhammad Abubakar Siddique View Members
15 Government Assurances Functional Committees Kamil Ali Agha Shahana Iftikhar View Members
16 Cabinet Secretariat Standing Committees Saadia Abbasi Ghulam Muhammad Shar View Members
17 Law and Justice Standing Committees Syed Ali Zafar Mir Shai Mazar Baloch View Members
18 Information and Broadcasting Standing Committees Faisal Javed Wijdan Khaliq View Members
19 Petroleum Standing Committees Mohammad Abdul Qadir Rafiullah View Members
20 Committee on Delegated Legislation Other Committees Mian Raza Rabbani Hafsa Farooq View Members
21 Devolution Functional Committees Mushtaq Ahmed Farhana Wagha View Members
22 Power Standing Committees Azam Nazeer Tarar Bushra Rafique Dahar View Members
23 Parliamentary Affairs Standing Committees Taj Haider Hassan Farooq Dar View Members
24 Overseas Pakistanis and Human Resource Development Standing Committees Manzoor Ahmed Muhammad Bilal Bokhari View Members
25 Inter-Provincial Coordination Standing Committees Nisar Ahmed Khuhro Naeem Akhtar Bhatti View Members
26 Information Technology and Telecommunication Standing Committees Kauda Babar Lt Col R Syed Asim Raza View Members
27 Climate Change Standing Committees Seemee Ezdi Wajeeha Riaz View Members
28 Defence Production Standing Committees Dilawar Khan Asim Khan Goraya View Members
29 Federal Education and Professional Training Standing Committees Irfan-ul-Haque Siddiqui Alamzeb View Members
30 Housing and Works Standing Committees Hidayatullah Khan Muhammad Asghar Gondal View Members
31 Kashmir Affairs and Gilgit-Baltistan Standing Committees Prof. Sajid Mir Jamil Ahmed Khoso View Members
32 Poverty Alleviation and Social Safety Standing Committees Naseebullah Bazai Waqas Khan View Members
33 National Health Services Regulations and Coordination Standing Committees Mohammad Humayun Mohmand Muhammad Shafiq View Members
34 Religious Affairs and Inter-Faith Harmony Standing Committees Molana Abdul Ghafoor Haideri Tariq Bin Waheed View Members
35 Privatization Standing Committees Shammim Afridi Ashraf Javaid View Members
36 Railways Standing Committees Muhammad Qasim Jamil Ahmed Khoso View Members
37 Science and Technology Standing Committees Sardar Muhammad Shafiq Tareen Zarghoona Shabbir View Members
38 States and Frontier Regions Standing Committees Hilal-ur-Rehman Azhar Siddique View Members
39 Narcotics Control Standing Committees Ejaz Ahmad Chaudhary Zarghoona Shabbir View Members
40 National Food Security and Research Standing Committees Syed Muzafar Hussain Shah Zarghoona Shabbir View Members
41 Human Rights Standing Committees Walid Iqbal Farkhanda Nasir View Members
42 Water Resources Standing Committees Syed Muhammad Sabir Shah Farhat Hayat View Members
43 Senate Library Committee Domestic Committees Azam Nazeer Tarar Shagufta Shaukat View Members
44 Parliamentary Committee to Protect Minorities from Forced Conversions Parliamentary Committees Liaqat Khan Tarakai Muhammad Irfan View Members
45 The Promotion and Development of Football in the Country Special Committee Faisal Saleem Rahman Muhammad Bilal Bokhari View Members
46 Senate Secretariat Employees Welfare Fund (SSEWF) Domestic Committees Muhammad Sadiq Sanjrani Muhammad Farid-ud-Din View Members
47 Select Committee on The Islamabad Capital Territory Trust (Amendment) Bill, 2020 Select Committee Muhammad Azam Khan Swati Rabeea Anwar View Members
48 Economic Affairs Standing Committees Faisal Saleem Rahman Hassan Farooq Dar View Members
49 National Heritage and Culture Standing Committees Dr Afnan Ullah Khan Mukhtar Ahmed Khan View Members
50 Special Committee on Grievances of Local Tobacco Growers and Manufactures. Special Committee Atta Ur Rehman Hafeezullah Sheikh View Members
51 Senate Special Committee/Working Group to Streamline holding of Mango Festival in Urumqi, Xinjiang. Special Committee Rana Mahmood ul Hassan Jamil Ahmed Khoso View Members
52 Special Committee on the Problems of the Employees of the National Bank of Pakistan belonging to Balochistan Special Committee Naseebullah Bazai Akhunzada Attaullah Khan Malik View Members
53 Parliamentary Caucus on Water Resources in the Country Other Committees Saadia Abbasi Ghulam Muhammad Shar View Members