News Detail

new detail picture

Event Title: Senate standing Committee on Power

Event Date: 2021-11-11

Meeting of the Senate standing Committee on Power was held under the Chairmanship of Senator Saifullah Abro here at Parliament House today.

Meeting commenced with consideration of the agenda item regarding the rehabilitation plan of de-licensed public sector power generation plants and improvement of power generation plants of all GENCOs, along with Independent Inquiry Report of damage and repair of 747MW in Block-V in GENCO-II and detail of BODs of all GENCOs from 2002 till date along with their notifications and Cvs.

At the outset of the meeting Chairman Committee questioned as to why the Ministry still has not presented the Independent Inquiry Report of damage and repair of 747MW in Block-V of GENCO-II,  replying to which Ministry officials said that report will be presented in the next meeting of the committee. Chairman Committee lamented the passive approach of the relevant corners in this regard and pointed out that officials have been saying the same thing from last three meetings that report will be presented in the next meeting after approval of BODs, but nothing has materialized in this regard till now. Chairman Committee further commented that "Someone has to be held accountable for incurring such a huge loss to national exchequer, We will not allow laying waste to Public money in such blatant manner". 

Committee members walked out of committee meeting in protest against the continued absence of Minister for Energy (Power Division) and Secretary (Power Division). Committee members were  of the view that proceedings of the committee are fruitless without presence of relevant Minister and Federal Secretary. Even Committee's unanimous recommendations have not been considered for implementation and there is no progress whatsoever. Such behaviour on part of Ministry amounts to disrespecting the august forum of the Upper House. 

Committee meeting was attended by Senators, Saif Ullah  Sarwar Khan Nyazee, Fida Muhammad, Haji Hidayat Ullah Khan, Bahramand Khan Tangi, Hafiz Abdul Karim, Muhammad Asad Ali Khan Junejo, Senator Prince Ahmed Umer Ahmedzai, officials from Ministry of  Energy (power division)  and Genco Holding Company Limited.