Chaudhry Shujat Hussain

Name: Chaudhry Shujat Hussain Picture of Senator Chaudhry Shujat Hussain   
Tenure: March 2009 to March 2015
Province: Punjab
Party: Pakistan Muslim League (PML)
Seat Description: General
Designation: Senator

Home Number: 051-2253335-6
Mobile Number: 0300-5264291,0321-4471123
Fax Number: 051-2262221
Local Address: H.No.9, St-72, F-8/3, Islamabad.
Permanent Address: H.No.9, St-72, F-8/3, Islamabad.

Chaudhry Shujat Hussain, President of Pakistan Muslim League and former Prime Minister of Pakistan, has been playing a leading role in the politics of Pakistan for nearly twenty-four years.

Born on 27th January, 1946 in Gujarat, Pakistan, Chaudhry Shujat Hussain is a graduate of Forman Christian College, Lahore. He went to London for further studies in Industrial Management. Thereafter he returned to Pakistan and joined the family business comprising of industrial units in textiles, sugar, flour milling and agricultural farms. The eldest son of the late Chaudhry Zahoor Elahi, he is married, with three children, a daughter and two sons.

His late father was a highly respected parliamentarian who played a prominent role in the restoration of democracy and human rights in the country, A firm believer in democracy, he was imprisoned by various governments for nearly eight years for his stance on restoration of political institutions. He was declared ďPrisoner of ConscienceĒ by Amnesty International. Chaudhry Zahoor Elahiís life came to a tragic end when he became the first political victim of terrorism in Pakistan.

Upon his fatherís assassination in 1981, Chaudhry Shujat Hussain entered politics. He became a Member of the Federal Parliament (Majlis-e-Shoora) in 1982. Since then, he has had an illustrious political career, although he himself underwent political imprisonment for a second time in 1994 by the then government in power. During his political life, Chaudhry Shujat Hussain has held several important positions: Throughout his political career, he has remained in the Pakistan Muslim League, a party which created Pakistan.

Member of National Assembly four times (1985, 1988, 1997, 2002)

Minister for Information and Broadcasting (1986)

Minister for Industries and Production (1987-1988)

Leader of the IJI Parliamentary Party, National Assembly (1988-1990)

Minister for Interior (1990-1993)

Member of Senate of Pakistan (1993)

Chairman, Senate Standing Committee on Defence, Production and Civil Aviation (1993-1997)

Minister for Interior and Narcotics Control (1997-1999)

Parliamentary Leader of Pakistan Muslim League in the National Assembly (December 2002)

Chairman Standing Committee on Defence of National Assembly

President, Pakistan Muslim League (January, 2003)

Prime Minister of Islamic Republic of Pakistan (June 2004-August 2004)

Chairman National Sufi Council (2006)